DIY Moroccan-Style Wall Stencil Tutorial

 
I jazzed up my wall with a DIY Moroccan-style pattern. And, the best part about this project?… it was completely free.  One Pampers box and some leftover paint later and I really like my wall 🙂
 
Here’s what you do.
1. Find a Moroccan-ish shape you like online and print it out whatever size you want (Google images is a good place to go).  The larger you go… the less work it is.  I had to tile mine onto 4 sheets of paper, then tape them together.  Don’t worry about the design being all blurry if it is, you can fix that in a minute.  Once it’s all taped, fold the paper in quarters and cut out your shape.  When you unfold it, you will have a symmetrical pattern even if it started off blurry.  Here is the shape I used if you want to do the same.
Originally I was going to add that center shape as well until I started tracing, and realized I was insane.
 
2. Trace your shape onto cardboard and cut it out. 
 
3. Step 3 is an important one, and I think the reason I had no wonky pattern happening.  I taped a level to my stencil.  This way, I traced it onto the wall perfectly straight every time.  Worked out awesome.
 
4.  Pick a spot on your wall to start tracing lightly with a pencil.  I eyeballed where my stencil would end up on each end of the wall and made sure I started in a place that would have me end in a half pattern on each side.  Did that make sense?  It really doesn’t matter.  I just preferred no tiny slivers on the sides.
(In these pictures I already went over some of my pencil lines with the paint)
Wall_Stencil_1
 
5. Once you traced everything with a pencil, (took me a few nights while they snoozed) grab a small brush and go over the lines with paint.  That’s it!
DIY_Wall_Stencil_3
My lines are not perfect but no one is going to look that closely. 🙂

DIY_Wall_Stencil_4

 
I’m sad to say that just a few weeks after I finished my wall… we sold our house and moved!  (Which explains the lack of posts in a while… and the crappy iPhone picture of the “after”)  Oh well.  It was good practice and I will definitely be doing this again in our next house. I love how it turned out.
Source: http://www.whiletheysnooze.blogspot.in/
Leave a Reply

